Blog Tour: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys featuring Cat Winters With Review & look at April Genevieve Tucholke's new novel




Follow the tour:

Stefan Bachmann - 8/10 – Winterhaven Books 
Leigh Bardugo - 8/11 – The Hiding Spot 
Kendare Blake - 8/12 – Reading Teen 
A. G. Howard - 8/13 – Page Turners Blog 
Marie Lu - 8/14 – Gone With the Words 


Jonathan Maberry - 8/17 – Bookish Antics 
April Genevieve Tucholke - 8/18 – The Midnight Garden 
Danielle Paige - 8/19 – The Irish Banana 
Carrie Ryan - 8/20 – Katie’s Book Blog 
Megan Shepherd - 8/21 – Jessabella Reads 


Nova Ren Suma - 8/24 - Bookiemoji 
McCormick Templeman - 8/25 – The Eater of Books! 
Cat Winters - 8/26 – Seeing Double in Neverland 
Jay Kristoff – 8/27 Fangirlish


Slasher Girls & Monster Boys, edited by April Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: August 18, 2015
Source: Book sent from Publisher
Rating: 3.5 Stars



Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters



Seeing Double In Neverland Review:

Some of the highlights in this book were Kendra Blakes, Jonathan Maberry and I liked the eerie twist of an Alice and Wonderland kind of setting that Carrie Ryan took but she twists it all around. This story really focusing on the March Hare. The March Hare is a freaky twisted version of the White Rabbit. 

 Marie Lu's The Girl without a face was very intense and you have no idea what is going on and why the closet is locked from the inside. Readers will tear through the pages to discover what has been plaguing him from the past.

This book had a little something for everyone. Each story is so diverse and different from the other but all horror inspired. I grew up loving movies like The Hitcher so I loved Kendra Blakes story. Jonathan Maberry's story had so many levels to it that just drew me in. This is an incredible caliber of Authors and the writing is superb. Since the stories are short I do not want to give to much away and you need to visit the rest of the tour to find out more on each story. I will say that some did scary me a little too much LOL but if that is your thing then you will devour every page.

Now for Cat Winters story. I was so excited about getting her for my tour date. Emmeline had such an old Hollywood feel and was such an incredible old horror story yet subtle. Where there are eerie moments and feelings but not in your face scary. Emmeline has a very romantic feel. This was unique and incredible writing.


The Inspiration behind “Emmeline”

by Cat Winters



Shortly after I learned I’d be involved in a YA horror anthology—one that would pay homage to horror movies from the past—my mind veered to the flickering, spellbinding black-and-white imagery of the 1922 vampire film Nosferatu.



A setting soon emerged in my head: a bombed-out farmhouse in the French countryside during World War I. I imagined a teenaged girl dwelling in the moonlight in the ruins of her former bedroom, which has been demolished by explosives. As in Nosferatu, her surroundings are shadowy and unsettling and devoid of all color . . . except for a single red scarf that she’s diligently knitting. I thought of the young soldiers interacting with French girls in All Quiet on the Western Front, a story I first encountered through the 1930 silent film adaptation before reading the novel by Erich Maria Remarque.



Another thought struck me: let’s make my short story a companion to my novel, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, a WWI-era ghost tale. I’d already been considering writing a companion piece to the book that would involve one of the novel’s minor characters, a young, wounded soldier named Jones. I suddenly imagined Jones wandering into the ruins of the room of the girl knitting the scarf, becoming enraptured by her, and then wondering if something wasn’t quite right with her. But I would tell the story from the point of view of the girl, who adores movies and imagines herself in the romantic black-and-white world of the cinema.

The resulting story, “Emmeline,” is a one-act scene that explores the short, dangerous relationship between my mysterious French girl and her American soldier guest who dares to visit her inside her broken bedroom. It’s not necessarily a story that will cause you to glance over your shoulder in terror every time you hear a sound. Instead, I aimed to write a piece that felt dark, chilling, sensual, and macabre.


It wasn’t until after I finished writing “Emmeline” that I realized I’d been subconsciously influenced by the 1952 Daphne du Maurier short story “Kiss Me Again, Stranger.” When I was a teen, du Maurier, the author of the classic Gothic novel Rebecca, was my absolute favorite writer. As in “Emmeline,” du Maurier’s lead mystery girl in “Kiss Me Again, Stranger” is haunted by the destruction of her family’s home, although hers was bombed during WWII, not WWI. A young man takes an interest in her, seeing her as a pretty, enigmatic romantic conquest, but he soon discovers it’s not safe to remain with her.




About the Author

Cat Winters was born and raised in Southern California, near Disneyland, which may explain her love of haunted mansions, bygone eras, and fantasylands. She received degrees in drama and English from the University of California, Irvine, and formerly worked in publishing.

Her critically acclaimed debut novel, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, was named a 2014 Morris Award Finalist, a School Library Journal Best Book of 2013, a 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, and a 2013 Bram Stoker Award Nominee. Her second novel, The Cure for Dreaming, was named to ALA's 2015 Amelia Bloomer Project, the 2014 Tiptree Award Longlist, and VOYA's 2014 Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror. Her first novel for adults, The Uninvited, debuted in 2015, and her upcoming novels include The Steep and Thorny Way (YA fiction, March 2016) and Yesternight (adult fiction, Summer 2016). She's also a contributor to the 2015 YA horror anthology Slasher Girls & Monster Boys.

Cat lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and two kids.



Now a sneak peek at April Genevieve Tucholke's new novel 



Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.
Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen  bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous. 
 

What really happened? 
Someone knows. 
Someone is lying.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Release Day Blitz: #Giveaway #Win @RivetedLit ZERO REPEAT FOREVER by Gabrielle Prendergast ~ Review