Blog Tour: #Giveaway to #Win SOUND (Salvage #2) by Alexandra Duncan with Q&A



Tour Schedule

WEEK ONE

Sept. 14th | Seeing Double In Neverland - Interview

Sept. 15th | Butter My Books - Review

Sept. 16th | The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club - Guest Post

Sept. 17th | Bookaholics Anonymous - Review

Sept. 18th | The Cover Contessa - Interview


WEEK TWO

Sept. 21st | Dazzled by Books - Guest Post

Sept. 22nd | Fiktshun - Review

Sept. 23rd | Bookhounds YA - Interview

Sept. 24th | Literary Meanderings - Excerpt

Sept. 25th | The Broke and the Bookish - Review



Title & Series: SOUND (Salvage #2)
Release date: September 22, 2015
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 496
Formats: Hardcover, eBook



Description:

SOUND is the stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan’s acclaimed novel Salvage, a debut that internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins called “kick-ass, brilliant, feminist science fiction.” For fans of Beth Revis, Firefly, and Battlestar Galactica.

As a child, Ava’s adopted sister Miyole watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage. If she plays her cards right, she could even be given permission to conduct her own research and experiments in her own habitat lab on the flight home. But when her ship saves a rover that has been viciously attacked by looters and kidnappers, Miyole—along with a rescued rover girl named Cassia—embarks on a mission to rescue Cassia’s abducted brother, and that changes the course of Miyole’s life forever.


Do not forget to check out the first book in the series Salvage





Seeing Double in Neverland Q&A with Alexandra Duncan

1) What inspired you to delve back into the same world that Salvage was based on?
Miyole was really the inspiration for me jumping back into the Salvage world. I loved writing her character in Salvage, but everything that happened to her - losing her mother and her home, basically living on the street in Mumbai with Ava - seemed like just the beginning of her story. She’s resilient, but even resilient people have to face their demons eventually, which is what Miyole does in Sound.

2) What character has been the funnest to write?
In Sound, it has to be Isha, the witch Miyole and her crew meet on an abandoned waystation. She’s the only survivor of a terrible plague that wiped out the station, and she’s gone insane, stuck there by herself. Writing unpredictable characters is always a lot of fun, and Isha is nothing if not unpredictable.

3) Will you write any more books in this world?
Right now, I don’t have any plans to do so. I may some day, but right now I’m working on a near-future dystopian thriller about a world where corporations are the only governing force left. The main character is a guard for one of those corporations. One night, she spares the lives of a boy and girl her age, which sparks a series of events that threaten to tear apart the world she knows.

4) Have you always wanted to be a writer?
I have! Even before I could spell, I used to carry around a notebook that I would fill with pictures. I would beg my mom and any other adult I could find to write down the stories I would tell. It wasn’t until fifth grade that I figured out being a writer was a career real people could have, though. Our teacher had each of us in her class write stories, and then she had them bound into books. For some reason, that made the idea click for me - actual people were writing those books I checked out from the library all the time, which meant I could do that, too.

5) What do you think gives a female character true strength on the page?

There’s a really wonderful quote from Nelson Mandela, “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” I think what gives female characters, or any characters, strength on the page is that sometimes they are afraid or vulnerable, but they do what they need to do anyway, whether that’s surviving or righting a wrong. The more imperfect and human a character is, the more their strength means.




About Alexandra Duncan

Alexandra Duncan is a writer and librarian. Her first novel, Salvage, was published April 1, 2014, by Greenwillow Books. Her short fiction has appeared in several Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy anthologies and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. She loves anything that gets her hands dirty pie-baking, leatherworking, gardening, drawing, and rolling sushi. She lives with her husband and two monstrous, furry cats in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

You can visit her online at http://alexandra-duncan.com/








Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a signed hardback of SOUND, a signed paperback of SALVAGE, and this electronic butterfly in a jar. US Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. I love the covers and story line of your series. I also look forward to the dystopian you are writing. It's great for you to have known since grade school that you wanted to be a writer.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for stopping by and reading my interview with Alexandra

      Delete
  2. I loved, loved Salvage and can't wait to continue reading your books! Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The covers are stunning! So excited for this tour. TY for stopping by

      Delete
  3. Great Interview! I hope Alexandra will write more books in the future! I really love Salvage! I bet Sound is as good as Salvage!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love that she picks Isha as her favorite character to write! As a writer I agree, but I also have to agree as a reader! The unpredictable nature of characters that have a hint (or whole brain) full of insanity make for a storyline that you can't easily figure out ahead of time. It's so neat that she made this stand-alone even though it's still tied to Salvage.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Haven't read this series yet, but have been eye-ing it since last year. I liked learning a bit about Isha in this post.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag