Dual Review for Lark Rising & Silver Eve (Guardians of Tarnec 1 & 2) by Sandra Waugh



Hardcover384 pages
Published September 23rd 2014 
by Random House Books for Young Readers 
Source: Hardcover sent from publisher
Rating: 4 Out of 5 Stars




Goodreads Description:

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.
 
“A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor.” —Juliet Marillier, author of Wildwood Dancing
 
Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.
 
Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.


Review:

Thank you Random House for sending me a copy of Lark Rising for review. This in no way affected my opinion in my review.

I was introduced to this book by my mom who is our local head librarian. They did not have a copy to check out and I really wanted to review this. Random house was so generous and sent it to me. It is a double bonus because now that I have finished my local library is getting donated this copy so more people can fall in love with this book.

Sandra did such an exceptional job taking you into a fantasy world of turmoil and unbalance. Nature is being effected by Chaos and the Guardian of light has been summoned and needs to find the amulet and restore it to Tarnec so there can be balance once more.

Lark was such a great character. She is a shy and timid girl who usually avoids people and crowds. Lark however has been chosen to journey to find help for her village. The growth and development of Lark is one of my favorite parts of this book. She finds herself encountering new people along her journey. One of these new people is a Rider only whispered about by her people as legend.  This handsome Rider however tries to kill her upon their first meeting. He also seems to have a chip on his shoulder. Lark is so torn since she is drawn to him yet his personality is less then desirable. 

I enjoyed the strength that Lark discovers as well as the sacrifices. The unique aspect of two cousins born from twins I was so intrigued. This was a fast read full of adventure. The only aspect that was hard was the back and forth between Lark and Gharain the Rider. This is going to be an amazing series and I can not wait for more.


Hardcover384 pages
Published September 22nd 2015 
by Random House Books for Young Readers 
Source: ARC sent from publisher
Rating: 5 Out of 5 Stars



Goodreads Description:

A Healer without home or purpose, seventeen-year-old Evie Carew has found the perfect place to disappear: Rood Marsh. She can easily fade into its vast wilderness of towering reeds; leave behind the growing violence that is claiming her innocent world. Leave behind the tragedy that broke her heart and sent her far from her grandmother, cousin Lark and all she once loved.

But Evie is not alone in the marsh. A seer, a Rider, and Breeders of Chaos all hunt her—for though opposed in objective, her seekers share knowledge she does not: Evie is one of the four Guardians of Tarnec, one who can help save the world from the coming destruction if she can reclaim the stolen amulet of Death. But whether she meets true love or a brutal end on such a journey is a matter of who finds her first.
 

Review:


Thank you Random House books for an ARC for review. This in no way affected my opinion.

While I liked Lark Rising I loved Silver Eve. I felt for Eve's story in the first book but this story just moved you from beginning till end. Also unlike Lark Rising this book left you wanting more from Eve's story. I also adore the swoon worthy Laurent. 

Laurent is a fierce rider who keeps his heart and emotions under lock and key. Eve has no problem stepping to him. He likes her fierce nature and respects her even though their opinions differ very often. The chemistry was definitely there between the two of them in this story. I think even more so than between Lark and Gharian in book one.

This book was woven with adventure, fantasy, loyalty, love and betrayal. It will leave you wanting more and begging for book 3. aI was captivated by Sandra's writing and while there are many fantasy books coming out the fact that we get an in depth story from different main characters makes this series unique. This is am must read for fantasy fans!

About the Author

Sandra grew up in an old house full of crowded bookshelves, in walking distance of an old library that allowed her to drag home a sack of six books at a time. It goes without saying, then, that she fell in love with the old house in Litchfield County, CT, because of its many bookshelves, and she lives there now with her husband, two sons, and a dog who snores. Loudly.

LARK RISING is her first novel and the first in the GUARDIANS OF TARNEC series. SILVER EVE follows in 2015.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag