Blog Tour: #Giveaway #Win Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit ~ Review



I am so excited to bring you Anna and the Swallow Man blog tour. This is a story that follows a girls journey and is timeless and heartfelt book for all ages.


Do not forget to enter the Rafflecopter at the bottom for our exclusive ARC and pin Giveaway.



Anna and the Swallow Man by 
Hardcover240 pages
Expected publication: January 26th 2016 
by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Source: ARC from Publissher
Rating: 4 Out of 5 Stars




Goodreads Description:

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.
 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone. 

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. 

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. 

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 
 
Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.



Review:

Thank you Random House for sending me a copy of Anna and the Swallow Man for review. This in no way affected my opinion.

I was going in to reading this story as an adult. I am not a kid or teen. So I have to say it is very universal. Anna takes a journey from adolescents into the beginning of her women hood. At times a cringed at the decisions she made as a parent. However, it was true to what a girl her age would do. Gavriel took a girl who was vulnerable in a time where it was not good to be vulnerable. Then wrote on how she learned to adapt and become a survivor when not many did survive. 

Anna and the Swallow Man reminded me of a childhood staple and favorite, Numbering the Stars by Lois Lowery. This is a must read and such a magical historical fiction that really captured the nature of the era it was set in. I would recommend this book to teachers, Librarians and children. I think Anna and the Swallow Man is the next staple for Schools to carry and require their students to read. I highly recommend this book to be added to you shelf. 

Buy Links:





About the Author

After graduating from the University of Michigan with a degree in Musical Theatre, Gavriel Savit moved to New York to launch his performing career with shows at places like the Pittsburgh Civic Light Opera, Goodspeed Musicals in Connecticut, City Center’s Encores! series, and the Westside Theatre, Off-Broadway (here’s a full theatrical resume that gives a more complete listing).

Like many actors, Gavriel also had some unstructured time, which he spent reading: Neil Gaiman’sSandman series, Yann Martel’s Life of Pi, Adam Levin’s The Instructions, Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, and the stories of Jorge Luis Borges, amongst others.
He found it all terribly inspiring.

Gavriel had an idea and he had a computer, so he sat down and he started to write. His first novel,Anna and the Swallow Man is due out from Knopf’s Books for Young Readers division in the Spring of 2016.

Gavriel continues to perform in the theatre, and he’s got a few different writing projects he’s working on, too. He won’t tell you about them, even if you ask, but if you like ambiguity, you can check out the works-in-progress section of this website for some weird, tantalizing flavor.




Giveaway

US ONLY - 1 ARC of Anna and the Swallow Man and a pin that says I read Anna and the Swallow Man before you did. (I was able to get these for you courtesy of First In Line at Yallfest)


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. This sounds like a powerful book with characters I would immediately want to get to know and care what happens to them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh wow. Historical fiction can be so heavy, and nothing is ever heavier than books set during WWII it seems. I'm hesitant just because I know that the environment lends itself to even more heart-breaking and feeling-forcing events than the synopsis alludes too...and yet, with a recommendation like this it is simply too good to ignore. I just got done with NaNoWriMo, and after a month of having NO TIME for anything besides writing my own silly novel, I'm looking forward to diving back into my usual reading rate.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I could not write last month but am taking December to write. You will enjoy this book. The theme is heavy and things that happen are heavy but the journey is worth knowing

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag