Throwback Thursday: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) ~ Review



A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by 
Hardcover416 pages
Published May 5th 2015 
by Bloomsbury Children's
Source: ARC 
Rating: 5 Out of 5 Stars





Goodreads Description:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
 

Review:

I have to thank Nancy at Ravenous Reader for letting me borrow her ARC before the book was released. I had read the sampler and this became my must read.

This book is my favorite Sarah J Maas book to date. I loved this retelling. It was a little mature so I do not recommend this for young teens. I was completely entranced and imported into the world Sarah created. The world between humans and the fey has been divided by a wall no longer living in peace they are commanded to stay on their own side of the borders. 

Feyre has become the crutch he family depends on. She hunts to bring in food and income from the pelts. Starving and knowing they need food Feyre sets out on a day of hunting game. Things go very wrong when Feyre kills a Wolf that i a fey in wolf form. 

Tamlin comes and shows mercy by not killing Feyre but he tells her she must come live with him in the world of the Fey. The world beyond the wall is a magical adventure. I totally ship Tamlin and Feyre. Rhys is such an incredible character and is my favorite in the story. He has so many elements to him that you just want to crack them and get a look inside.

This was such an amazing book. A Court of Thorns and Roses had it all and meshed effortlessly - fantasy, dynamic characters, action, incredible world building and the romance. This is not a book to be missed.



Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Release Day Blitz: #Giveaway #Win @RivetedLit ZERO REPEAT FOREVER by Gabrielle Prendergast ~ Review

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag