Blog Tour: #Giveaway #Win Dark Energy by Robison Wells



Tour Schedule:

Week One:
3/21/2016- My So-Called Book ReviewsInterview
3/22/2016- NerdophilesGuest Post
3/23/2016- Once Upon A Twilight- Review
3/24/2016- Curling Up With A Good BookReview
3/25/2016- Storybook Slayers- Interview

Week Two:
3/28/2016- Literary MeanderingsReview
3/29/2016- Penny Dreadful Book ReviewsGuest Post
3/30/2016- Rachel's Book ReviewsReview
3/31/2016- Seeing Double In NeverlandInterview
4/1/2016-A Dream Within A Dream- Review




This was a very exciting personal interview for me and actually meant so much that I got to do this. I have very bad anxiety do to a personal matter in my past and present personal life. As an aspiring writer seeing someone like Robinson Wells talk about the good and bad moments helps encourage so many people. Thank you Robison and RockStar Book Tours for giving me the opportunity to conduct this interview.


DARK ENERGY by Robison Wells
Release Date: March 29, 2016
Pages: 288
Publisher: HarperTeen
Formats: Hardcover, eBook



Synopsis:

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.

Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.

If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.



Find it:



Seeing Double in Neverland Q&A with Robison Wells

What triggered the inspiration for Dark Energy?

I’ve had the plot idea for Dark Energy for several years, though I hadn’t thought much about characters or tone. The inspiration for that came from a free-write of the first chapter. I was inspired by the book The Gun Seller, by Hugh Laurie, which is a thriller, but also full of wit and wordplay. I decided to give my protagonist (Alice) a funny, snarky tone of voice. It worked really well, especially in her banter with her father, and her first-person narration. The book is still serious (and scary) in parts, but with comedic relief.

What was your favorite scene to write?

As mentioned above, I really enjoy the scenes where Alice and her dad are talking. I love writing dialog anyway, so having a funny main character and her funny dad (you can tell where she gets her sense of humor).

I know you suffer from mental illness what helps you cope with all the pressures of deadlines and touring put on Authors?

It’s mainly an issue of just acknowledging my limitations. I know that I have only so many good hours in a day. I know that if I push it really hard one day, I’ll crash the next. But I also know that it’s easy for me to give in to obsessive behaviors: like revising a chapter far longer than I need to, or researching minutiae for no good reason. So, knowing that I have these tendencies, I’m able to schedule my time around them—I actually have an Excel spreadsheet open on one of my screens while I work, where I update my progress and goals hourly.
As for touring, I deal with a lot of the same issues. The main thing that I have to be aware of is that, even after I manage the stress of an event, I know that I will crash at the end.

Will you ever do another compilation book fundraiser again? (It was such a great way to get awareness out there to your fans and support a great cause)

I don’t have any plans for another such fundraiser, but I’m so very pleased with how that one turned out that I would never say it won’t happen again. I met some great people through that, and the mental health essays that were written (which were supposed to be secondary) were so wonderful—they made the anthology worth every penny.

Who is your biggest support in your writing career?

Lots of people have been supportive, but by far the most important has been my wife, who is the most stabilizing, empathetic, long-suffering person I know. She manages my brain, always knowing when to push me, when to pull me back, when to go full steam and when to quit.
In second place is Annie, my service dog. She keeps me sane.

Who's writing has been the most influential in your career?

Probably my brother, Dan Wells. I don’t feel like his novels really influence my novels, but always brainstorm with each other, and discuss our writing, and discuss our careers. He’s accomplished stuff I haven’t, and I’ve done stuff he hasn’t. We work well together as a team. (As a sidenote: we never read the final versions of each other’s stuff. We only read first drafts. Sometimes we never even read that—we just get together to layout the plots and characters, and then we go back to our own writing and don’t pay a lot of attention to one another’s finished works.)

At what age did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I came into writing later than most authors. My brother always wanted to be a writer, so, since I was a year younger, I never wanted to be in his shadow: he loved writing, so I loved other things—I started out in the visual arts, as a painter. It wasn’t until college that I stumbled into writing. I had an idea for a book, and I called my brother and told him he should write it. He gently said that he was working on something else, but I should write a couple of chapters and come down to his writing group. And the rest is history.

What is the best writing advice you have ever received?

The best advice I’ve ever received is also the first advice. When my brother suggested that I write my first book, he said, “Everyone says they have an idea for a book. Everyone says that eventually they’re going to sit down someday and write the Great American Novel. The difference between writers and everyone else is that writers do it. They sit down and write. They work.” 

What was your top 3 favorite reads last year?

The World Without Us, by Alan Weisman
The Archer’s Tale, by Bernard Cornwell
Catalystby SJ Kincaid

What can we expect from you next? (Will it be a YA? Will you stay in the same genre of switch it up? I understand it might be under wraps but any clues...)

I have two books that I’m working on. One is an apocalyptic YA, with a mentally ill main character. The second is a MG in which superpowers can be purchased just like plastic surgery.




Thank you Robison for taking the time to answer all my questions.







About Robinson:

Robison Wells is the author of Blackout, Deadzone, Variant, Feedback, Dark Energy, and Airships of Camelot. Variant was a Publishers Weekly Best Book, a YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers and a Bestseller. Robison lives in the Rocky Mountains in a house not too far from elk pastures. His wife, Erin, is a better person than he will ever be, and their three kids cause mischief and/or joy.

Robison has an MBA in Marketing, and a BS in Political Science, with an emphasis in International Relations of the Middle East.

Robison suffers from five mental illnesses (panic disorder, OCD, agoraphobia, depression and dermatillomania) and is an outspoken advocate for those with mental illnesses.

His books have been published in nine different languages, and he is the winner of many awards both in and out of the United States.




Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a finished copy of DARK ENERGY, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. I saw this book on goodreads and marked it as want to read--this sounds so good and definitely a page-turner and a book that will make me stay up way too late. Love the cover too!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag