Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana ~ Review


Mirror in the Sky by 
Hardcover352 pages
Expected publication: June 21st 2016 
by Razorbill
Source: ARC provided by Publisher
Rating: 4 Out of 5 Stars

Synopsis:

An  evocative debut, perfect for fans of Tommy Wallach's  We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year.
“Beautifully written, surprising and poignant.”
—Lynn Weingarten, New York Times bestselling author of Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls


For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it.

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara's life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth--or for Tara--will ever be the same again.
 


Review:


Thank you Penguin Young Readers for sending me a copy of Mirror in the Sky for review. This in no way affected my opinion.

I am not a big fan of contemporary but this felt like contemporary with a twist. This book had me craving Indian food so bad. Author Aditi really had you cheering for Tara throughout this story. Tara experiences so much turmoil from her best friend leaving and sending her a really crappy message before she takes off, to making friends with vipers but also learning to see beyond the facade, then her parents are struggling with the concept of Terra Nova and if there other selves never had to give up their dreams. Did the people they love never die?

I was drawn in by the whole concept of there being a Terra Nova undescovered and the way Aditi's writing has people in the story contemplating every decision and how it may have changed the course of their life. Wondering what could your other self being doing at that very moment and for some it makes them go crazy. Then you have the cult leaders trying to draw people in to their rituals and way of thinking. Preying on the weak who are looking for answers.

These all came together in one moving story about a girl who comes into her own and finds out what is really important. I only wish in the end there had been a epilogue. But this is a must read and I am not a huge fan of contemporary so that statement speaks volumes. I was not bored at any point of this story.



Buy Links:


About the Author
Aditi Khorana spent part of her childhood in India, Denmark, and New England. She has a BA in international relations from Brown University and an MA in global media and communications from the Annenberg School for Communication. She has worked as a journalist at ABC News, CNN, and PBS, and most recently as a marketing executive consulting for various Hollywood studios including Fox, Paramount, and Sony.Mirror in the Sky is her first novel. She lives in Los Angeles and spends her free time reading, hiking, and exploring LA’s eclectic and wonderful architecture. For more information, visit aditikhorana.com.





find my book photos here:


Comments

  1. I keep hearing such great things about this poignant debut, and I can't wait to start it! I love books that are philosophical and make you think :) Great review!

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag