Blog Tour: Disruptor (Seeker #3) by Arwen Elys Dayton ~ Q&A




Tour Schedule:

February 6th - Winterhaven Books
February 7th - The Cover Contessa
February 8th - Unbound Worlds 
February 9th - The Eater of Books!
February 10th - Once Upon a Twilight
February 11th - Adventures in YA Publishing
February 13th - A Dream Within A Dream
February 14th - Two Chicks on Books
February 15th - Seeing Double in Neverland
February 16th - Mundie Moms
February 17th - Take Me Away to a Great Read
February 21st - Bookhounds YA
February 22nd - The Reading Nook Reviews
February 23rd - The Fandom
February 24th - Page Turners Blog
February 27th - Fiction Fare
February 28th - YA Books Central 


Disruptor (Seeker #3)




Praise for Seeker
“If you are looking for a fantasy to invite you into something strange and yet familiar, with just the right amount of romance to keep you turning the pages in hopes of ‘that kiss,’ this book will not disappoint.” —USA Today.com

Arwen Elys Dayton’s novel Seeker is a must-read. . . . This book is beyond engaging and, with a movie deal already in the works, you won’t want to skip this.” —Girls’ Life.com

Epic and unputdownable.” —Justine.com

“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.”
School Library Journal

“A complex family saga.” Publishers Weekly

“[A] genre-blending sci-fi, fantasy, steampunk adventure.” Booklist

Praise for Traveler
“An action-packed read with plenty of surprising turns. Readers of Kami Garcia, Tahereh Mafi, and Marie Lu will appreciate the action and adventure as well as the underlying battle of good versus evil.” Booklist

“For fans of fantasy who enjoy unraveling mysteries, action-packed fighting scenes, and interwoven plotlines.School Library Journal

“Both past and present choices shook me to the core, and the final pages left me trembling . . . and then internally cursing that I’ll have to wait until 2017 for a final resolution!”
Fanboy Comics



Q&A with Arwen Elys Dayton:


Has your writing process become different from Seeker to Disruptor?

Honestly, every time I start a new book, it feels like reinventing the wheel. Or learning to walk again. When you are near the end of a book, you’ve hit a rhythm and maybe you’ve figured out how to write THAT book, and you start to believe that this writing thing is a piece of cake and maybe you are a professional. Very little of this confidence gets ported over to the next book; you’re back to a blank page and square one. The only difference for me now is that I know, if I jump off the cliff and start writing, and then if I keep writing, at the end I will eventually have a complete novel. But it still feels inexplicable and miraculous each time.

What was your favorite scene to write in Disruptor and why?

When you write the last book in a series, you—finally—get to write certain scenes that you’ve been saving up for a long time, and this is a delicious perk. So I don’t have ONE favorite, but two scenes come to mind. The first is about halfway through Disruptor, a delicate moment between John and the Young Dread where we feel a connection between these two very different characters. The second is a scene with Nott, a twelve-year-old boy who’s been raised by the Middle Dread to be a ruthless fighter—only Nott is still a hapless and amusing twelve-year-old underneath the Middle Dread’s training. He’s also very dirty. Near the beginning of the book there’s a chapter in which Nott has been ordered to take a bath—a huge sacrifice for him.

What character when you were finished writing them was the hardest to say goodbye to?

Hmmm, Maud and John were particularly hard to say goodbye to. I don’t want to give away what happens to them at the end of Disruptor (!) but when I finished the book, I was left with a sense of melancholy about the two of them and the fact that I would not get to spend time with them anymore.

Did you have to do any research for Disruptor?

At the beginning of the series, I did research on all sorts of topics, from bridge construction (to help create the Hong Kong Transit Bridge) to string theory (to pick apart the universe as Seekers do). For Disruptor, though, most of my research was about the new locations in the story, particularly Iceland, which provides the backdrop from some key moments between Shinobu and John. I really should go to Iceland for an in-person visit, but I am contenting myself with Internet image searches for now.

What was the hardest character to write in Disruptor?

A character called Maggie. She is John’s grandmother, and she was actually introduced in the first book, in a small, seemingly insignificant, part, but even then I was gearing up for her much larger role in Disruptor. She has a strong and destructive influence over John. She has in many ways controlled his life and his outlook on the world. I love a good villain, but living in Maggie’s head wasn’t very pleasant.

Whose writing most inspires you?

Many current YA and non-YA authors! But lately I’ve been returning to one of the classics of my childhood: Ray Bradbury. Such simple writing that packs a tremendous emotional punch. The creepy ambience in Something Wicked This Way Comes, the stark glimpses of our future in The Illustrated Man—these stories sweep me away.

What was your favorite read in 2016?

In YA, I really, really liked Illuminae and Gemina. In non-YA, I read a weird and amazing book called The Library at Mount Char that kept me fully captivated.

What debut book are you most excited to read in 2017?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I’ve heard so many good things.

What TV show is a must for you to watch? (for example I cannot miss Once Upon a Time)
The Americans!

What is your next project going to be? (If you cannot say too much what genre will it be)

I’m working on a new book series, which is shaping up to contain quite a lot of mystery and which is also, in many ways, autobiographical. I’m also writing a book of short stories that share a common theme about humans (specifically young people) physically modifying themselves, sometimes for the better, sometimes not, and reinventing what it means to be a human being.



About the Author:

ARWEN ELYS DAYTON is the author of the Seeker series: Seeker, Traveler, Disruptor, and the e-novella The Young Dread. She spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid at Giza, Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. Arwen lives with her husband and three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can visit her and learn more about the Seeker series at arwendayton.com and follow @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Marvels by Brian Selznick ~ Review by Fallon

The Tsar's Guard Spotlight Tour: #International #Giveaway #win The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye - art & Swag